What was the best book or movie of the year?


For me it would have to be the best movie. I love to read, but so far have not really had any ‘omg!’ moments with any. Movies, however, I love and there were some that really made me chuffed.

Number One would have to be Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows 2. As a die hard fan of the HP movies, and books, my vote would definitely go there. I thought it was well done and hit all the major points with appropriate gravity and demeanor. The special effects were fantastic as usual.

The rest are in no particular order but I want to mention them anyway.

X-Men: The First Class.  I was dubious about this at first, but it really came out well, imo.

Thor – Arguably almost as much a chick flick for the eye candy (he was a babe and a half) as an action pic. Still, I really liked the story and looking forward to seeing him again in the Avengers.

Captain America – I thought this was nicely done overall and I really enjoyed the story and the action. It was a little cheesy at times, but even that was appropriate for the time period the story takes place in. I like that they paid homage to that.

Transformers: Dark of the Moon – I love this series and this movie didn’t disappoint me. There were a few things though that I think they dropped the ball on big time. The parents, who I think everyone really enjoys seeing because of the comic relief, are thrown in there with no real purpose and then just cast off with a really flimsy, lame reason.  Sam seems to have gone to school, but with no clear idea what he actually graduated in? I think in one interview he said he majored in some kind of clothing marketing? Really?  Still, the graphics and action never let up and saved it from the few odd things.

There are some I haven’t yet seen or are still coming out that I’m looking forward to, but these come to mind right now.

Jeanie

Categories: Random Acts of Thinking | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What was the best book or movie of the year?

  1. Movie: “Win Win,” then possibly “Another Earth.” I could actually reverse the two.

    Book: The Help!!!!!!! But I also liked “I Am Mary Sutter.” By the way, I just started “Cutting for Stone.” Have you heard of this? It’s amazing.

  2. Cubbyholes

    No I haven’t heard of it. I’ll look it up on Amazon! Thanks! I just got done reading one of the early Mossy Creek series. Very, very different reading for me, but it was one of the free Kindle books and I thought I’d try it. It was fairly entertaining. Think Spoon River Anthology, but with more chapters and more depth on the people that are telling their story.

    There’s a fun book, too. Spoon River Anthology.

I love comments. Let's Talk!

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

