Home » Random Acts of Thinking » It’s NaNoWriMo time!

It’s NaNoWriMo time!


Ok, I know. What the heck is NaNoWriMo, right?

Well, it’s a writing challenge. You write a novel in 30 days. It has to be at least 50,000 words to qualify. It’s about frenetic, explosions of creative juices all over the place for 30 days. It doesn’t have to perfect. Spelling doesn’t count. Dangling participles are free to dangle. I’ve heard of this for the last couple of years from my writer friend, Vanessa, but never had the courage to try it. This is my year! I’ve signed up for it and…

…have no idea what I’m going to write about. LOL

After writing a full trilogy, and 75% of its three book series, what am I worried about? Right? WRONG! Short stories, stories off the cuff, a burst of a ideas, has always been tough. Once I get started, I do fine, but that first inspiration of what I want the story to be about and where I want it to go and finally end up, is always tough. Still, I’ll be giving this a lot of thought the next couple months. 

If you want to know more about all this head over to Nanowrimo. It’s a fun site to look around. The forums are especially interesting.

((See I learned how to put a link in this post?  yay me! lol))

4 thoughts on “It’s NaNoWriMo time!

  1. Yes, i have heard about writing a novel in 30 days. It really does get one going towards the goal of a finished book. Good luck with it! judy

  2. Oh man…you’re going to do NaNo this year? I will be cheering you along, lady! I did it last year. Did very well, but did not finish. Such is life. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    • Now I just need to figure out how many pages 50,000 words comes to. I think that might be easier for me to get my head around. lol. I have an idea for a story about buying our first house. (the one we are in now). I even have my first sentence….

      “I want to buy a toilet seat.” lol

I love comments. Let's Talk!

