Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Found these and just had to share

Found these and just had to share


So hubby and I were in Walmart today. Walking past the aisle where all the candles are we looked over and found these. Now you have to understand. I LOVE good cast iron. I have a big collection of Wagner, Griswold and American CI skillets and pans. We also have a woodstove which we use as our only heat in the winter. I usually add little candle blocks or oils or whatever I’ve found to the water we keep in the stovetop. These meet with varied results and varied messes, but at least its a nice smell for a while.

Well…… now you understand why I just love these little beauties. They are perfect to sit right on the stovetop. I don’t have to worry about them, the mess will be minimal, contained and easily cleaned up. And I can resuse them with whatever little tarts or “scentsy-ish” blocks I find.

So here is a picture of my find of the day. BTW.,. it was the hubby who noticed these. What a guy! 🙂

Ok.  have a little update about these. Yes, they do smell wonderful and the scent really stays with them no matter how many times they melt. BUT! My idea about using them on the woodstove hit an unexpected problem. They do work, but because the cast iron is not “good” cast iron, the oils from the candles are leeching out and all over my stove top. It doesn’t seem to be hurting the smell. but it is leaving an oil stain on my cast iron stove. I’m going to be using these as candles from now on, but not for melting on the woodstove. I found something else what will work better and its made of enamel so there won’t be a leakage problem.

Just thought I would let you all know!

One thought on “Found these and just had to share

I love comments. Let's Talk!

