Home » Random Acts of Thinking » First fire and first snow

First fire and first snow


There is something lucious about the first fire in the woodstove in the autumn. It’s been cleaned, swept, all the junk taken off the top of it that accumulates during the summer. It sits there waiting for the temperature to get just low enough to be brought back to crackling life.

Today was that day! It was 1:15 in the afternoon and it was 38 degrees. Yep, I would say it was time to light the ole’ stove up. I got a wad of dryer lint, (which I save all the time in a bag) spread it out on half of an egg carton, (I’ll be down to 1/4 of a carton once I get back into the swing of lighting it again), stacked a few pieces of kindling and then the big moment…. the match. It catches immediately (did I mention how wonderful lint is for getting fires started?) and in just moments I catch that first wonderful smoky smell. There is a soft crackling as the kindling starts to catch, and best of all… the wave of heat that starts to pour out the door at you.

I’m convinced that there are different sorts of heat “feelings”. Any warmth in winter is good, but….there is something comforting about a woodstove. Maybe its the memories I have of stoves. My aunt and uncles cabin way at the top of the mountains and the woodstove that made the entire cabin so warm you could sit there in your jammies even while it blizzarded outside. The woodstove at my parents house that always made the house nice and toasty. The lady across the street from us when I was little, who always had the neighborhood girls over for a sleepover each winter and the little potbelly woodstove that kept us warm in the enclosed porch.Even the smell of woodstoves (and fireplaces) brings back many memories. The warmth from my stove not only warms my body, but my soul as well. Every winter I call my sister and tell her thank you for helping us to get it installed. She laughs, but honestly, since that is our only heat, it was the biggest godsend to us, and everytime i stand and warm my bones it makes me smile and think of her.

And by the way, for those of you who have stoves and like to make the house smell wonderful with spices and stuff in the water on top? Scentsy candles have these packs that are divided into squares. I have a tiny little cast iron pot (its decorative mostly and only about 2 inches around, but its still iron and so can sit on your stove), and I put one square into it. Its melted and it makes the whole house smell soooo good and unlike some, its not so overpowering that you are choking on oversaturated “smell” in the air. There are others of course, but I do find, so far at least, that these scentsy ones are nice without being “too much”.

Speaking of too much… if you were to look at my kitchen table, it is loaded with peeled and washed carrots. Nine bags of carrots to be exact. Tomorrow they get shredded and dehydrated. I had a couple starting to show signs of going bad, so I knew I really had to get on the ball today. Being sick all week really took it out of me and I didn’t get nearly as much done as I wanted. Today was the first day in a week I felt like a human being again so the carrots got started.

And now for the weather…SNOW!  Yep. Snow is on its way tomorrow. We’re supposed to get 2-3 inches. I’m going to have to get my butt out of my warm bed and haul wood in. I should have restocked today, but I was doing so many other things I never quite got to it. Tomorrow though, it has to be done.

And while it snows, I’m going to sit on my sofa in front of my crackling woodstove, do my knitting, and sip on a huge chocolate cappucino. Yep, I love the fall. Bring on the snow!

2 thoughts on “First fire and first snow

  1. That’s it. I’m moving in. What was your address again?

    Fires and chocolate Cappuccino and knitting. This sounds dreamy. I’m glad you’re feeling better and envy the amazing picture you paint of this day. Patsye

I love comments. Let's Talk!

