Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Nanowrimo starts tonight at midnight!

Nanowrimo starts tonight at midnight!


Yep, its that time again. I’m signed up, have my ideas ready to hit paper and am getting little bits of nerves. Will I make the entire 50K word count? I don’t know. I like my book idea, but is there enough to fill that many pages? (approx. 200)  I guess I’ll find out. I really should have taken the time to do more of a layout for myself, but one thing or another keeps taking precedence. I’m going to remember now to be too hard on myself if I don’t make it. It’s my first time doing this and will be a learning experience no matter how I do. I’m not being defeatist, but I’m also not going to beat myself up or make myself sick as has happened on other projects too numerous to count. I’m going to view this as a fun adventure and not a matter of life or death. 🙂

Wish me luck all. I’ll keep my word counts posted. I’ll try making a text box down the sidebar and see if I can keep it updated there.

Jeanie

5 thoughts on “Nanowrimo starts tonight at midnight!

    • If you go to Nanowrimo.com there is tons of fun info about it.. In a nutshell, though, it happens every November. You make the committment to write a novel in one month. It’s considered more of a rough draft so you don’t have to do a ton of editing on it first, but it does have to be a minimum of 50,000 words, which is approximately 200 pages. It comes to 1666 words per day, although if you shoot for 2000 words a day it gives you a bit of room to breathe. It’s a nationawide event. Libraries even set aside times for participants to come and have ‘write-ins”. I wanted to do it the last couple of years, but never tried it. This year I decided to give it my best shot. So here I am. 🙂

      • Awesome. You are a great writer, and I can’t wait to read excerpts! I, on the other hand, have trouble finding time just to make comments and write a 300-word post now and then. Where does the time go?

I love comments. Let's Talk!

