Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Looking back at Postaday/Postaweek 2011, how did you do?

Looking back at Postaday/Postaweek 2011, how did you do?


Well, you made it to the end — congratulations! Now is the perfect time to reflect on your 2011 in blogging, and your goals for 2012.

Here are eleven questions to help you determine your blogging strategy for the new year:

  1. Why did you start the Post a Day/Week Challenge?
  2. Describe the state of your blog at the time you started the challenge.
  3. How did your blog evolve over the course of the challenge?
  4. Did you post as often as you had hoped? Why or why not?
  5. What type of blogging strategy works best for you?
  6. If you could go back to the beginning, what would you do differently?
  7. What are you most proud of accomplishing this year?
  8. Name 3 great blogs you discovered through the challenge.
  9. What surprised you about the challenge?
  10. What advice would you give to others who want to blog regularly?
  11. What are your blogging goals for 2012?

1. I was looking for something to help spur me on with ideas and to make sure I didn’t get too lazy.
2. My blog was, and still is, pretty new. I am not an experienced blogger so there is a learning curve to be sure.  My blog was fairly bare.
3. I think my blogging has improved somewhat. I try to make sure there is some direction to my post, something worth reading. Sometimes I fail at that and its just a rambling mess, but I’ve been trying to improve on that.
4. I’m part of Postaweek and yes, I’ve kept to that. I often post more than one thing, but so long as I make my one a week, I’m happy with myself.
5. I don’t have a strategy really. I blog what comes to me or what has inspired me; prompts, events, others posts, etc.
6. I wish I would have found this sooner.
7. What I’ve been learning as I tried to make the blog better. It’s fun to have something to aim for.
8. I didn’t understand, and am still trying to learn how, to find other blogs. I spent the first couple months not really seeing anyones blogs unless they found me first. Now I go out looking for them and am having fun discovering new blogs. I spend a lot of time over at Whimseytopia@wordpress.com  and Northernnarratives@wordpress.com . Two new blogs I’ve been enjoying is cozyrambles@wordpress.com and ramblingdesigns@wordpress.com . All of them are run by folks who seem to be as quirky as me and good senses of humor about things. We all need a laugh now and then and to know what we are not alone in our oopsies, booboos, uhohs and wow cools.
9. How much I’ve enjoyed doing it. I wasn’t sure I could. I failed rather miserably at Nanowrimo, so I was nervous about trying this next.
10. Read others blogs. You would be surprised at how many ideas spawn from reading others experiences, insights and ramblings. Also, watch the prompts. I don’t use them all the time, but sometimes they are just the push I need to think of something to write.
11. I truly would like to expand my subscriptions and make my blog look its best. Its nice to say, I’m going to blog for me, to write my own thoughts down, but it really does make one feel good when others read your stuff and can find something in it that speaks to them, encourages them, makes them laugh, etc. I’ve found that far more fulfilling than I really thought I would. I also want to become a better subscriber and do the same for others folks out there.

Even if you didn’t do the postaday or postaweek thing you could answer these questions. How do you feel about your blogging experience over the last year? or more?

Jeanie

3 thoughts on “Looking back at Postaday/Postaweek 2011, how did you do?

  1. I thought of trying the blog a day thing back when I was able to be more active, but, thought better of it. Apparently my decision was a sound one (for a change) based on the testaments of a few of my favorite bloggers who did try it, along with my learning that spending more time, when I had it, on research writing, and visiting, and reading within the network was much more fulfilling for myself and others in the bloggerhood. Those whom I know personally that tried it…actually were more prolific BEFORE making the commitment. Probably a pressure thing? Who knows? Anyway great writing here, and beautiful festive header.
    Bless You..HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
    paul

  2. Thanks! Yes, I couldn’t do it every day, but the once a week I can manage so far. hehe. I was already for nanowrimo then couldn’t keep up with it. 😦 This is less pressure for sure. 🙂

I love comments. Let's Talk!

