Home » Have sticks will frog... » Changed my knitting mind…again

Changed my knitting mind…again


Yes, I know. I was going to start with the squares, for those who follow my blog, but I changed my mind. It probably had something to do with the fact that the first two I tried came out so badly that I frogged them back to first stitch in frustration. So I started the other pattern, you know, the one that looked so hard? I must be a glutton for punishment. I did so love the colors and yarn I had picked out for it though. I’m using Cascade 220 Superwash. It’s a lovely soft wool that doesn’t make me itch and is very forgiving with washing. I’m using a light green, a dark green and a dark brown. I have a ball of antique white also just in case I decided to use that somewhere. 😉

So after 5 tries at getting the very first part started, the 6th was the keeper. This is part one of the pattern. You make this braided strip first. It ends up being 72 inches long when you are finished with it.

You will notice on the finished picture of it that she did the cable in two colors. I’d done a little cabling before but not this much and combined with all the other patterns in that 17 stitches that I had to learn, (like the bobble thingy), one color was quite enough.

The piece should look like this when its done… I hope! lol. 

Now I don’t think I’m breaking any rules here with the pictures of the finished piece because I did not include the pattern for it. If you wish to make this item, its from “Knit along with Debbie Macomber. Friendship Shawls” book. There are gorgeous items in there and its my first book by here. I want the rest. lol.

Anyway, I’ll keep you posted on how its going. I’ve done maybe 35 inches or so of the strip since day before yesterday. It’s not real fast going since there is a lot to do in a small space, but I’m plugging along.

Jeanie

 

 

5 thoughts on “Changed my knitting mind…again

  1. There is ONE problem with this music. I hear it and it’s wonderful, and if I leave the page, like to make this comment, it changes. Is there any way to keep the music going between pages? Sometimes I feel like I should sit and wait for the song to finish (because I like it so much) before I make another click! Patsye

  2. I know. Sometimes I just leave the page up to listen while I post or read other blogs. I don’t think there is a way to do it, unless someone else has figured it out. If so please let me know!

    I’m at 60 inches on that strip now. It’s very slow going. I want to get to the rest in the worst way!

    Jeanie

I love comments. Let's Talk!

