Home » Random Acts of Thinking » I need an opinion!

I need an opinion!


When we moved into our house, it had no “face”. The front was bare as bare could be. No lovin’ at all. The shutters had been taken down and never put back up. There were NO flowers or shrubs or anything. It was just “blech”. But I saw promise! Now I want to spruce things up further and need your opinions on this. 🙂 So sit back and, fair warning, this is photo heavy.

This is how the house looks as of 7am this morning.  I built the shutters all by my lonesome and, while spindly sort of, the rhodos are actually blooming. Note to self.. prune next year to make them bushier. Oh well, I live and learn. The window boxes are my downfall. I get beautiful flowers on one side and hardly any on the other thanks to the trees on the side of the house. Tired of spending money and watching them die. This year.. I’m putting in silk so that at least the front of the house looks decent. LOL.

Yes, I know the lawn needs mowing and there is a piece of siding that came off during one of the recent windstorms. We’re working on those things soon. 🙂 The rock garden was new last year and its fun to see what’s coming up so far. That still needs a little work, but it’s a lifesave not having to mow that steep hill again.

BTW, I did NOT put on that horrible blue siding. The owner before us did. The house is actually an almost 200 year old post and beam.

Ok, now for the choices. If you look at the picture from this post, “Tiles, Painting, Cooking and Cleaning”you will see the picture of the blue shutters and the little table in front of them. I want those shutters. 🙂 However, wanting them and whether they will look good or not on MY house are two different things. So I hit my Corel and did some playing with hue and saturation and tried out different colors. Here are some of them. Which do you like the best?

Bright blue like the shutters in the picture (mine will be painted with designs like in the picture if I go this route).

.

.

.

.

.

.

Little bit darker blue (still could do some extra painting on them and have it look pretty good, but not so briiiiight.) 

.

.

.

.

.

.

This is a dark blue. I wouldn’t do any decorative painting most likely. It would be a more “normal” look.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This is a dark green. I do like this as well, but don’t trust my eyes in this case to be sure that it goes with the house.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Lastly this is red. The darker red of the door, or maybe even a bit darker, more towards a barn red, would be how we would go if we went red.

.

.

.

.

.

.

These I’ll include just for the fun of it. They were never being considered, but since I was playing with colors anyway……

Ok, so what do you all think? I need some opinions. Any ideas? Comments? Suggestions?

11 thoughts on “I need an opinion!

    • Well, to be honest, I really dislike gray and black.. for just about anything. hehe. I considered going with a dark charcoal, and even did a piccy of it, but the more I looked at it the more I hated it. I do have a house number I put on my mailbox that is on the street. 🙂 I’ll get around to sprucing up my mailbox another time. lol.

  1. Hello! Your house is so cute! I actually felt more drawn to the dark blue, which is funny because I like bright blue a lot better. All the pictures looked great, though, so I’m thinking you can’t go wrong with whatever you choose!

    Good luck and have fun sprucing up your home! Have a lovely week and happy A to Z!!

  2. since you asked…I like the middle blue choice. The lighter one looks a little washed out to me, and the dark looks too conservative.I actually do like the purple in the bottom row, even though I know those aren’t serious choices.

    • I was wondering how many would like that one. 🙂 I know lavender is really popular but I’m not much into purples uniless its a flower. hehe. Thanks so much for your input! I really appreciate it 🙂

    • lol. That color is called Nutmeg. I liked the name, too. I still like it mostly, but it’s not holding up well to the weather and fading and such. 😦 Thanks for the input! I really appreciate it 🙂

  3. I like either the red or green. These colors pop out and they make me smile just like when I see you and Mike.

  4. Pingback: Shutters… Part 1 «

I love comments. Let's Talk!

