Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Our day at the Fair

Our day at the Fair


So today was the fair I’ve been talking about. We had a short spurt of rain for about 10 mins around 7:30am or so, but that cleared off and we were back to the very high humidity and heat. If it weren’t for the humidity being so terrible, the temperature would have been more easily dealt with, although mid-90’s is still nothing to sneeze at. Well, for NW Mass it isn’t. 🙂  There was also an air quality warning this morning.

I think between that, the heat and all the other fairs and yard sales and what not around today that may have had something to do with the truly horrendous turnout. I mean I’ve seen slow, but this was really bad. It’s a shame. This church is VERY old and has been having this fair for a million years. The last couple have been a bit of a struggle though.

But here are some photos. First I wanted to show you a little bit of my store display I have in a shop in town. The store is owned by a good friend of mine and we rent a space in there. We have a beautiful oak lighted display cabinet. Mostly I use the two upper sections and just keep the lighted lower sections (I don’t have a picture of that) for sale stuff.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The next one is my display at the fair. The second is my friend’s booth at the fair.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

These are a couple shots of the fair itself. As you can see…not many folks. Our big rush of the day was maybe 50 people in the field at once.

 

We did have really cool thing happen. My sweetie was chowing down on his lunch hoagie and a black butterfly started flying around and around him. It finally settled on his hand and just sat there for several minutes. I grabbed my camera quick and tried to get a decent shot. It hung around a few more minutes and then took off. It was really cool. Next week I’ll have some fun pictures for you. Our town is having their 250th year anniversary and the Budweiser Clydesdales are going to be here for the big parade. They will be around town for a week doing various events then will be in their full panoply and with the wagon during the parade. The sweetie took the day off so we could go. We’re really excited to see them.

Enjoy!

I love comments. Let's Talk!

