Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Does anyone else ever feel this way?

Does anyone else ever feel this way?


I’ve been debating posting about this. Should I admit this? What will my readers think? Will they like it or hate it? Am I the only one who feels this way? A friend said I should post it. She is an awesome blogger so I said ok.

I feel overwhelmed.

No, my life isn’t in a panic. My marriage is wonderful. My dogs are doing great. My family is doing good. I, however, feel under pressure, a little panicked and overwhelmed. Why, you ask?

I simply cannot keep up with what all these amazing people accomplish on their farms, their crafts, their recycling projects, their yards, their gardens, their preparedness….. (the list goes on)

I LOVE reading the blogs of all these wonderful folks, but the more I read, the more I realize how inadequate I am to the task of keeping pace with them.

Don’t misunderstand. Some of this is my fault for I am a terrible procrastinator. I work at doing better with that, but it lingers still. But the rest… well, let me give you some examples.

For all that I’ve done with my yard, and I have done a lot, the success is more a matter of luck than of skill on my part. Noone is more surprised than I when something actually lives let alone thrives. How can I keep up with all these folks who seem to be able to make anything and everything sprout in its full glory from the earth in such abundance?

Zombies from The BeyondIf the zombies attack, will we starve? Probably.

I love to knit and crochet, but I’m not fast at either. How do I keep up with the nimble fingers of so many who can turn out gorgeous items every week? If the zombies attack in winter will we be warm? Not so sure.

I try to be more adventurous in trying things from the kitchen. I try to work in more veggies for us. I try to make sure the sweetie’s meals are good for him. I try to learn how to make more things from scratch. I made homemade cheese. The mozzarella was wonderful. The cheddar was a disaster. It cost me more to make them than to go to the store and just buy them. Who knew that a gallon of milk costs so much now? I surely didn’t. The homemade beef pepperoni was frightening. I’m good at dehydrating though. I enjoy doing that and in a small house it’s much easier to find places to keep it. 🙂

But if the zombies attack at dinner time, will we have enough food to last through the siege? Maybe.

Zombie Parade - DSC 0533 ep

I don’t have chickens, although I would like to try that one day. But I can’t kill them and would have to find someplace to take them for slaughter. I don’t have goats or cattle. No room for cows, not sure I would use a goat enough to make it worth it to keep one.  If the zombies attack the supermarket would I have my own supply of meat? er…no.

I love to craft, upcycle, renovate. I love to read what others do and tweak those ideas to fit my projects. But again, I cannot keep up with those who renovate entire houses in 6 months on a budget of $127.34. It takes me time to get big projects accomplished. I have to save up for materials or wait till I find them at yardsales. It sometimes takes me a few weeks, or months, to decide exactly how I want to do something or how I want it to look. Others don’t seem to have this problem. If the zombies attack Home Depot would our house fall apart? Well, not right away, but it could get ugly at some point in the future.

So what do I do? I have craft overload. SOOOO many things I want to do, but don’t get done as quickly as I want to do them. I like to cook, but am I as thrifty as my homesteaders? No and honestly, feel like I’m a bit lost in how to get there. I want my house to look like it does in Country Home Magazine, but does it? No, its filled with all the stuff I scrounge, salvage, find at yardsales, collections and upcyling materials. Am I able, or do I want, to go “off the grid”? Honestly, no I don’t. I wouldn’t mind being better about it, but I’m very happy with electricity and indoor plumbing.

Zombies Invade San Francisco!Yet, I feel guilty, overwhelmed, overloaded, frantic, like a slacker, inept, lacking in some innate way that I am not these people and cannot keep up with them. Does anyone else feel this way?

If the zombies attack…can we come live with you guys? 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Does anyone else ever feel this way?

  1. Haha, if the main concern is zombies, get a gun, learn to shoot, stockpile ammo and shelf-stable food, and build a gunner’s nest on top of your roof.

    Seriously, though if you’re just looking to do more for yourself, may I recommend the chickens? They are so, so easy and you don’t have to kill them for meat, they do this awesome egg laying thing, and they only require about 10 minutes a day of work. I love mine. As to the rest, you can only do as much as you can do. For all my chicken success, I’m still a tragic cook, and I can live with that. After all, I can scramble eggs. 🙂 So focus on what you’re great at.

    • Actually, sweetie and I are looking into getting a gun. Lots of hoops to go through. Mostly because he’s away a bit more now. My concern with chickens is that we don’t actually eat that many eggs. Maybe just 2 chickens? Or do they need a flock to be happy? Well another thing to look into. lol. Sorry to hear of your tragic cooking. But as you said..so long as you have eggs and can cook them you won’t starve, eh? Thanks for the encouragement!

I love comments. Let's Talk!

