Home » Journey to Frugality » Today is Rebatching Soap day

Today is Rebatching Soap day


I make my own soap. I use lye and do a modified process usually. I haven’t had to make soap for just us for over a year and a half now, but the supply is getting low. I have a friend who is a professional soap maker and she is kind enough to mix me up a custom EO, Lilac and Lavender, but until it’s ready, I need some soap. So I grabbed all my soap leftovers, spare chunks and a few never gonna use balls and started shredding them down.

Once it was all shredded I added some shredded coconut oil that I had in the freezer for when I make my next big batch and poured in about a cup or so of milk. Now whole milk makes it a little creamier because of the fat in it, but all I had was low fat which is why I added a bit of coconut oil. Coconut oil also makes it lather a bit more.

Then I turned the oven to 200 degrees and stuck the pot in the oven. The pot is stainless steel. Only use stainless steel or glass when working with glass. I didn’t time this but I checked it about an hour later or so and this is what it looked like once I gave it a little stir in the pan. Don’t stir roughly or whip because it will get frothy-ish and that looks ugly later.

Since someone may be wondering…this soap is already cured. It is pure soap and there is no danger of lye anymore. I don’t need to use my separated soap bowls and pans because of that. All I have to do is wash these up and all is well. In fact my pan will be really spotless. ๐Ÿ™‚

Most of this soap was a chamomile cucumber (and yes I used real cucumber and real chamomile in it) so it had a light green color and smelled mostly of fresh chamomile. I also took a good sized handful of oatmeal and about a 1/4 cup of lavender buds and pulverized them into a fine powder.

The lavender will give it pretty flecks and will add its aroma to the light chamomile scent and the oatmeal is just really good for the skin, specially sensitive skin.

Once I let the soap melt about another half hour or so in the oven I took it out and gently stirred in the powdered oatmeal and lavender. I then poured it into one of my soap molds.

Notice it has darkenedย a bit? That’s ok. ๐Ÿ™‚ If this was fresh soap, there would be other things to do at this point, but since it’s just a rebatch it’s pretty much done already. I let it cool then stuck it in the freezer fora bit to finish cooling it and popped it out of the silicone pan. All that’s left is to cut it into bars.

If I was making this for someone else I would have been a little more fussy about the edges when I cut it and used a heated knife blade to smooth them all out. Since it’s just for us though I don’t care about the edges. ๐Ÿ™‚

As you can see it has already lightened up quite a bit. It’s hard to tell in this picture, but the bars are a nice oatmeal color with little tiny flecks of lavender floating in it. You won’t feel them when you are washing, but they do look pretty. And the soap smells wonderful. ๐Ÿ™‚

Soon as I get my EO from my friend I’ll be making my large batch and I’ll do a video step by step with that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy!

One thought on “Today is Rebatching Soap day

I love comments. Let's Talk!

