Home » Random Acts of Thinking » I am NOT that woman!

I am NOT that woman!


We Can Do It poster for Westinghouse, closely ...

We Can Do It poster for Westinghouse, closely associated with Rosie the Riveter, although not a depiction of the cultural icon itself. Pictured Geraldine Doyle (1924-2010), at age 17. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You know the sort. She does it all. Her house is immaculate all the time. It smells of cookies even when she isn’t cooking. She has a huge garden that is producing a grocery store of food. She is raising a passle of kids who are all on the honor roll and never seem to do anything but smile prettily at the camera she is always aiming at them. She turns out crafts like madwoman. She makes every cleaning product known to the free world from scratch. Did I mention her house is always immaculate?Sighs….

I’ve been trying to be that woman. Ok, well I don’t have kids, but otherwise….

I’ve decided to stop making myself nuts. I am NOT that woman! I will never BE that woman.

Garage SalesMy house is not immaculate. It has stuff all over the place. Most of it just needs to be tidied, but there are always “those” piles. These are the piles of things collected at yard sales, flea markets, etc. All of them have crafts waiting to be done with them. All of them have particular uses already. It’s just a matter of getting to them.

In the meantime, however, they sit. Yes, I try to keep them in sorted, neat piles, but they are piles nonetheless.

My house sometimes smells like cookies. More often it smells like stew, though, especially in the winter. Most of the time it smells of dogs, specially when its wet out. The one and only bathroom in the house is right off the living room. What a terrible place to put a bathroom. I won’t go into what the house smells like SOME times. 😉

craftsIf you look around you will find projects in stages from started to almost finished and every step in between.

On the other hand, if you need something, I probably have it. Piece of ribbon? Button? Hook and eye? Cuphooks? Countless craft supplies? Yep, I probably have it.

I’m learning to make some homemade items right now. Today I made a homemade deodorant out of coconut oil, baking soda and cornstarch. Keep your fingers crossed. I’m desperate to find something that will keep my menopausal pits from driving away the general public.

Soon as I get Borax, I’ll be trying some homemade cleaners. I buy some things in bulk because its just cheaper to do so.

But even with my small efforts at thrift, a small house cannot help but be a cluttered house. I should be able to find a place with everything hidden away, a spotless floor, never a dish in the sink….  you get the point.

But I am NOT that woman!

Ya know what? It’s ok not to be that woman. My husband adores me. My dogs love me to bits. My house loves visitors who just kick their shoes off and flop down on the sofa. My dogs can be found curled up  on the sofa amongst the pillows, warm and cozy. My favorite place to knit is on my end of the sofa in front of my woodstove where I feel safe and welcome.

Yes, I need to tidy up a bit more. Now and then I go through everthing and weed out as much as I can. But I am THIS woman and that’s good enough.

 

I love comments. Let's Talk!

