Home » Have sticks will frog... » The Sweetie’s Slipper Socks

The Sweetie’s Slipper Socks


It’s Fall Frenzy around here, aka October and November. Things are busy. I have so many projects to work on and the house currently looks like a tornado went through. Parts of projects, in various stages of being done, are all over the place.

The one thing I got finished though were my sweetie’s slipper socks. He asked for these specifically and I was all excited. He really isn’t a sweater wearer and heretofore has not particularly wanted to try my socks. Till now!

With trembling fingers I went looking for a simple sock pattern that I could use bulky yarn to make. And I found it. For anyone who want the pattern, go to Downsizer.net and type in “Chunky Socks”. The pattern is made from the top down on dpns and is a REALLY simple sock with very good directions.

It calls for using Aran or chunky wool on 5mm dpns for a medium to large adult foot, but my sweetie saunters around on aircraft carriers so I used size 6 dpns for an extra large sock. It fits him perfectly. I used Bernat Alpaca Natural Blend yarn. Its 70% acrylic and 30% alpaca. The yarn is sooooo soft to handle and knitted up easily. The picture doesn’t show off the color quite right, but they are dark forest green, his favorite color. 🙂

In the pattern it did not call for the tops to be cuffed down, but sweetie liked them lower. In the pattern it calls for 20 leg rows and I did 16. The next pair I’ll probably half that so it will still be shorter without having to be cuffed. I’d like to try this with worsted weight so he could wear them with his shoes. These are definitely too thick for that, though they are perfect for bed socks which is what he wanted.

==================

The food dehydrating continues. I found a great deal on carrots today. The carrots were right from the farm (a local commercial farm) and were gorgeous. I got 11 bags of carrots for $5.00. I was pretty happy, but now I need to chop them all up and blanch them and get them drying. A dryers work is never done. LOL.

==================

Making items for the big fair in November and soon as I get some of them finished I’ll put them up.

Talk to you all again soon!

One thought on “The Sweetie’s Slipper Socks

  1. Ah yes! I remember now. You have all that music on this blog. I LOVE IT. And I love your socks. You’re a better man than me. I never finished my socks – remember those? Maybe some day. How are things? How is life? Looks like you are doing very well, and I’m so happy. I’ll be back to reading you now that I’m a North Carolina gal. Patsye

I love comments. Let's Talk!

