Home » Journey to Frugality » A jump in the prep area…

A jump in the prep area…


This weekend the Sweetie and I took a big jump ahead on the prepping front. We found the nearest LDS Cannery and had at it. 🙂

Before I get into that however, I want to tell you where my thoughts are on this whole thing.

First came the “omg, who would eat all this and why do I need to store it up?”

Then came “omg, how am I going to collect all this?”

Then the somewhat dismayed “omg, how am I going to save all this?”

Then I was back to a slightly familiar “WHY do I need to save ALL this?”

I read a lot of prepping and homesteading sites and I notice there tends to be a big difference in attitudes about the whole thing.  There are those who are, in my opinion, way over the top. They would have you turn your entire house into an armed and armored bunker and give everyone ranks and everything about their lives is about killing and maiming everyone else for one reason or another. Not my thing. Some are going for the long haul. 30 year supplies and hunkering down in a hole until its all over. Not really my thing either. Others are a bit more pragmatic about the rising costs of food and the possible need to have supplies for lean times to come. Honestly, that’s more the side of the fence I fall down on.  Now I have bits and pieces of the others, but on the whole, I think its just a practical good idea to have some stockpiles around…just in case.

That said…

I read on someone’s website that the greatest enemy to food stores are light, oxygen, critters, dampness and hungry folks. 😉  I can solve all those.  But a lot of the things on the lists are not things my family would really eat. One thing I read that stuck with me is that if your family doesn’t eat it now, they won’t want to eat it later. I tweaked my list. 🙂  I noticed that most people store wheat berries rather than flour. When I asked why, the answer was that berries last 30 years, whereas flour only lasts 10 years.  Well, I don’t have a grain mill, and having read how long it takes to hand grind flour to the right consistency, I wasn’t overly happy about that prospect.

Then I thought more about it…  In 30 years I’ll be 81 years old. Do I really expect to still be eating 30 year old wheat berries at 81? Truthfully no. I think this is one of those cases of a little over the top. 10 years makes me happy enough. In this case, I was able to get the mylar bags and oxygen absorbers, but had I not been able to get them, I still have found no definitive reason why packing it with my seal-a-meal wouldn’t have worked just fine. I tested it and it makes a solid brick. No different than the oa packs made. I’m storing it in my very temperate, cool basement in industrial thickness barrels in the dark. Critters can chew through these barrels (from experience I know this) so every enemy of food is solved, other than the hungry two-foots. I may still have to resort to this since the cannery is about an hour away and not something I can do all the time.

Now… ::drumroll:: For my weekend shopping trip I present to you…

25 lbs of sugarFlours
25 lbs of potato flakes
12.5 lbs of cocoa
25 lbs of pinto beans
25 lbs of oatmeal
1 #10 can of refried beans ( I wanted to try them out before buying 25 lbs of it. )
2.8 lbs bag of pancake mix ( I wanted to try it out first as well. I usually use Bisquick for pancakes, but not sure that I can save Bisquick, so thought I would try this. )
60 lbs of White Wheat Flour. (I ordered this from Price Chopper when it was on sale. It’s hard to find up here and when I saw they had it I was stoked. Been reading about white flour and diabetes and not a huge fan of red wheat, then found out about this variety of wheat. So far so good!) BTW, the flour was Hodgson Mill flour.

Next trip I plan to get 25 lbs of dried carrots, onions and non-fat dry milk powder. Also plan to start getting things like dried cheese powder, butter flakes and dried eggs (although I want to try making my own as well with my dehydrator).

So there you have it. My weekend. Hope you had a great one, too!

2 thoughts on “A jump in the prep area…

  1. Re: flour vs whole wheat. I opened a #10 can of whole wheat that my mom had bought or dry-pack canned in the 1970’s, ground it into flour, and it made perfect whole wheat bread. However, I’ve opened cans of whole wheat flour that I dry-pack canned in 1991 and it had an off taste. Whole wheat flour can become rancid. I live in Florida so if you don’t store things in the air conditioned space, it doesn’t have as long a shelf life. If bread is an every-day thing for your family, one #10 can of whole wheat, ground into flour, makes about 6 loaves. I bought a Bosch mixer, which will mix up & knead 3 loaves at a time. If I had to knead all that dough by hand forget it. I bought a new wheat grinder attachment for the Bosch for $100 on ebay and it works fine. (I also bought a hand crank for the mixer but I’ve never had to use it). You can buy wheat grinder attachments for Kitchen Aid mixers. My husband has a Kitchen Aid but it won’t hold 3 loaves of dough, so I’d have to change my basic recipe if I wanted to use that. The newer white wheat is mild tasting. I grind the flour right before using, and it makes a great loaf of bread. I have friends who have bought stand-alone wheat mills, like Wonder Mill or Nutrimill. They say that these mills process the grain faster and with less heat, so therefore preserve nutrients better.

    • Hiya Jeny! I understand what you’re saying. I had to make some decisions, not the least of which is that the white flour is not very good for the hubby. Been reading a book about diabetes and how much they are finding that the white flour is bad for it. Regular whole wheat is just not a viable solution for every day cooking because its too bitter and too heavy a flour. the white wheat is lighter, cooks like white flour, but has all the nutrition of its red cousin.
      Next batch I get I’ll can. I’ve tried twice now to make those mylar bags and oxygen absorbers work and they haven’t. Its back to my original plan of using my Food Saver to vacuum seal it. I’ve tried that and I get nice tight airless bricks that way.
      I’m fixing up the basement for all this storage. I’m in NW Mass and our real summer is pretty short compared to the winter and it stays very temperate down there in summer. The cold I don’t worry about.
      I would love to get a grinder for a number of reasons. For my birthday, in a couple weeks, I’m ordering a pasta machine, tho. 🙂
      Thanks for the info and coming by! Love hearing from my readers!!!

I love comments. Let's Talk!

