Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Stuffed Bell Peppers…with a twist

Stuffed Bell Peppers…with a twist


I’m getting adventurous.

As many of you know, I’ve been doing (trying) to do more prepping and practice better frugality. In some areas I’m succeeding…. in others I do abysmally. One of the things stressed in all the prepper/frugal sites I read is that you should start practicing, or at least trying out, the things you are thinking of storing. One of the items the Sweetie and I wanted to try was the Beef Flavored TVP.

I did some looking around at places that sell these sorts of products and found great deals at Augason Farms. I don’t think they’re as well known, but their prices are far better than many of the companies servicing the prepping community. The other thing I liked was that you can try smaller amounts of most of their items so you don’t get stuck with a lot of something you don’t like. So we bought their everyday sized can, which was 10 ozs. of the vegetarian beef tvp.

I won’t lie. I was a bit dubious. I mean how can anything vegan actually taste good, or even like meat? But we really wanted to give this a go, so I found a recipe that sounded delicious, and I’ll include that with the post.

Now I’ll admit when I’m wrong. And I was really wrong about this stuff. It’s vegan AND it’s delicious! When I added the water to reconstitute it, it looked just like ground beef. When I tasted it plain, it didn’t taste bad at all. Even the texture was just like ground beef. I loved that I didn’t have to brown it, drain it, wash off the grease. It was ready to use in like 15-20 mins. I loved that.

But the big test… how did the recipe taste? Awesome!  Seriously, awesome. If we hadn’t known what it was, we would not have guessed. I even gave one of the peppers to a friend of mine and she said the same thing. And I didn’t tell HER what was in it until after she tried it.

So here’s how it came out.

stuffed peppers

A few words about this recipe. It calls for 8 ozs. of TVP. My can had 10 ozs. so I just made the whole can. I winged it on adding a little more rice and tom. sauce to make up for that. The recipe says it makes 6 peppers, but if your peppers are on the biggish size, it will probably make 5 instead.

Anyway, here’s the recipe I used. This recipe came from Vegetarian.lovetoknow.com.

============================

Stuffed Bell Peppers

Ingredients:
8 ozs. TVP Granules
8 ozs. vegetable broth
6 large bell peppers
1/4 cup onions, chopped
2 TB olive oil
2 TB minced garlic
1 cup cooked rice
1 TB chopped, fresh parsley
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp salt
15 oz tomato sauce
3/4 cup mozzarella cheese

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2.In medium sized bowl, combine the TVP and broth, stir and set aside until the liquid is absorbed.
3. Cut the tops off the peppers; core and rinse
4. Bring a large stock pot of water to a boil, cook the peppers for 5 mins. After 5 mins. remove the peppers from the water, drain them, and arrange them upright in a baking dish.
5. In a frying pan, sauté the onion in the olive oil.
6. When onions are almost translucent, add the garlic to the pan and continue cooking until the garlic is warmed through.
7. Add the TVP, rice, parsley, oregano, salt and half the tomato sauce to the onions and garlic and stir well.
8. Stuff each pepper with the mixture, and pour the rest of the sauce over the peppers. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 1 hour or until the peppers are tender and the center of the stuffing is 160 degrees.
9. Remove the foil and sprinkle the peppers with the mozzarella.
10. Return the dish to the oven and continue baking just long enough to melt the cheese.
11. Serve the peppers with a garden salad.

==============================

Next up to try… the chicken  flavored tvp!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Bell Peppers…with a twist

  1. One of the hardest parts of aging is how, little by little, things are removed from your diet. Peppers, pizza, and many cheeses are now history for me. But it does look delicious!

    • I’d never make it without cheese! I tend towards lactose intolerance, but luckily it mostly only gets real ugly if I drink milk or have too much ice cream. I took the rest and dumped it on top of corn chips like taco salad. It was great. Maybe you could try something like that?

I love comments. Let's Talk!

