Home » The Diner » Homemade Chai Tea Mix

Homemade Chai Tea Mix


Lately I’ve been working on going through my collection of Make Your Own (MYO) recipes that I’ve collected here and there on the internet. I’ve finally gotten started making and trying some of them out. The only recipes I will post are those I’ve tried/used and am happy with. I’ll make tweaking suggestions here and there for tastes and such, but at least you know I’ve tried it and actually liked it.

First up…

Homemade Chai Tea Mix

I’ve found tons of different versions of this mix. Some of them seemed to take the “chai” part a little to loosely and it really didn’t resemble what I consider a good chai taste. I made this recipe a few days ago and it hit on ALL the things I wanted from a chai mix. Now the original mix made a LOT. I halved it so I could try it out and share it with a friend for her to try out, too. I’ll post both sized recipes to save you all the work of figuring it out. lol.

Original Size Amount

2 c. sugar
2 c. unsweetened instant tea
1  1/2 c. powdered French vanilla non-dairy creamer (I only had vanilla caramel and it worked just as well)
1 1/4 c. powdered non-dairy creamer (non-flavored)
1 1/4 c. brown sugar, packed
3/4 c. non-fat dry milk powder
2 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 1/4 tsp. cardamom (if you don’t have this wait till you get it. this is one of the real checkpoints of a good chai taste)
1 tsp. allspice
1/4 tsp. white pepper

Mix all ingredients and store in an air-tight container. (You can blender this to make it finer, but I don’t find that to be necessary)

To use:

Add 3-4 tsp. of mix to 1 cup hot water or 1 cup hot milk. (I don’t drink a lot of milk unless its hot because of the lactose, but heating it makes it easier to digest. I like it with milk best, but even with just water its delicious.)

(Also, start with 3 tsp. per cup. You made like it a little weaker. I like it a bit more strong, so 4 tsp. was more to my taste. Also, I like mine a little sweeter. I did add more sugar in my batch, but I suggest leaving the recipe as is and letting people add sugar if they so desire. Not everyone likes it as sweet as I do.)

This amount makes 8 cups of mix. You can save it all for yourself or you can package it in smaller amounts and make gifts with it.

===================

Half amount version – some of the measurements were hard to reduce easily so be sure you read the amounts carefully since some will be — PLUS—- amounts.

1 c. sugar
1 c. unsweetened instant tea
3/4 c. powdered French vanilla non-dairy creamer
1/2 cup PLUS 1/8 cup  powdered non-dairy creamer (non-flavored)
1/2 cup PLUS 1/8 cup  brown sugar, packed
1/3 c.  non-fat dry milk powder
1  1/4 tsp. cinnamon
3/4  tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. PLUS 1/8 tsp. cardamom (if you don’t have this wait till you get it. this is one of the real checkpoints of a good chai taste)
1/2 tsp. allspice
1/8 tsp. white pepper

5 thoughts on “Homemade Chai Tea Mix

  1. Interesting! Chai tea is everywhere here in the mountains, and I’ve never tried it but you’ve piqued my interest. Two things: Have you made it with lactose-free milk (like soy or almond milk), and have you substituted an artificial sweetener? What the heck is chai anyhow? I’m gonna look this up. Thanks for the tip. Patsye

    • An aromatic spiced tea, chai is a blend of loose-leaf tea, milk and ground spices (typically cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, ginger nutmeg and peper). Chai means aromatic tea. Interestingly enough in French it also means an above ground wine storage unit. lol.

      Anyway, no I’ve only used it with 2% milk because that’s what we get for my husband. I can’t drink the milk anymore and if I could, I like nice cold whole milk.

      I also don’t use very much artificial sweetener with the one exception of Splenda. Aspartame is pure poison and I think Stevia tastes foul. I will, however, often use the 1/2 splenda 1/2 sugar mix when I bake since it bakes up with no noticeable difference in size or texture. Getting hard to get around here though. I’m going to have to order it through the company I think.

      Sorry no help with the other items though. I would think it would taste just as good. Try it and let me know and I’ll put it in a note on the recipe so that others know about it, too!
      Thanks!

      • aww sorry you didn’t like it. There are lots of varieties of chai mixes you might find more to your taste. You can also just make it with water and leave out the milk. I’ll keep trying to find recipes you might like better. 🙂

I love comments. Let's Talk!

