Home » Random Acts of Thinking » My name is Jean P…

My name is Jean P…


The first step is admitting you have a problem. Welcome to DIYer’s Anonymous.

Frugality1. We admitted we were powerless over DIY projects—that our lives had become  unmanageable.
((More to the point, my project piles have become unmanageable. Bits and bobs and things I just know I’ll need someday are threatening to fall over on top of my head. Half-finished projects cry out for closure. It’s a sad state of affairs, I tell ya.))

 

2. We came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.Beyoncé is billed as "B.B. Homemaker"...

  (( Home Depot, Walmart, Bed, Bath and Beyond, Ikea…all promised that they had storage units for everything and that my home would look like the centerfold of Architectural Digest if I just bought all their storage “solutions” and implemented them. Martha Stewart colluded with them to make me think I could make all these storage units bright and pretty and “cute” as well. They lied to me.))

3. We made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of Television Interior Designers as we  understood them.
((It wasn’t my fault. It was the fault of all those wonderful makeover programs. You know, the ones that remodel an entire house in 47 mins? They showed me all the things I could make if I just had “this” item or “that” tool. They showed me fountains made out of coke bottles, chicken coops out of dog houses and enough furniture to fill a 6 room house out of old pallets. Yes, I could do anything! They said so.))

Stash Bash! I'll show you (some of) mine...4. We made a searching and fearless moral inventory of our stashes.
 ((Organization…that was the key. I decided to go through all my valuable jun..,treas…investments and decided to get rid of the stuff I wasn’t going to use, couldn’t think of an immediate use for, or am sure I will never really need. 17 hours later I had two shopping bags from Stop and Shop to toss out. Well, I would have except I realized that I might need those shopping bags for stuffing, or foot wrapping, or car trash bag, or…    I saved the bags and put the stuff back thinking that was a sign that I wasn’t supposed to throw those items out.))

5. We admitted to Martha, our Blogs, to ourselves, and to another human beings the exact nature  of our wrongs.
((I don’t see many actual human beings, but I told my dogs. Does that count?))

6. We’re entirely ready to have ourselves, and other human beings, or in my case, the hubster and the dogs,  tell us how to remove all these defects of character
(( If the dogs come up with any useful I’ll consider it. If the hubby comes up with any defects in my character, my stashes will be the least of his worries.))

Zhu Dan aiming her shotgun

Zhu Dan aiming her shotgun (Photo credit: edmundyeo)

7. We humbly asked them to remove our shortcomings, or stashes.
 ((I have a 12 gauge shotgun and I know where the ammo is……’nuff said on that one.))

8. We made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends  to them all.
((Dogs…couldn’t find some of their toys.    Hubby…couldn’t find him once, found him later under a pile of old sheets I was cutting into strips.   Walmart…for all the things I should have bought to finish these projects, but didn’t.    Martha…for not successfully living the “Martha Lifestyle” in the grand manner it deserves.    All the people whose birthday, Christmas and Feezle Day<who remembers where this is from? lol> presents are still half-finished.))

9. We made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so  would injure them or others.
((I went shopping! Walmart loved me again. I bought the dog more toys. I bought a bell for the hubby so I could find him again. I bought more paint, glue and nails. I bought that Limoges Oyster Plate, Dresser Tray and Powder Vanity Jar that you simple MUST have in the Martha world.))

10. We continued to take personal inventory, and when we were wrong, promptly  admitted it.
  ((Hey! No fair sticking in another #4. It was hard enough the first time. Course, I do need to add all that stuff back in that I took out in step 4, so… yep, I corrected the wrong and admitted it. Check.))

BEST CHICKEN COOP: Chicken Coop, Cameron Kempson

BEST CHICKEN COOP: Chicken Coop, Cameron Kempson (Photo credit: Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity)

11. We sought though hours of internet scanning and youtube videos  to improve our conscious contact with other DIYer’s as we understood them, hoping only for knowledge of new ways to use my stashes, bits and bobs and thingamajigs,  and the power to carry those projects out.
((Now I have new stashes…of printouts of tutorials, patterns, directions, coupons, recipes and building plans. I went shopping and got all new storage units to put these in, of course. Then I painted them a pretty yellow and added rickrack to the sides to trim them and make them pretty.))

12. Having had an inspirational awakening as the result of these steps, we try to  carry this message to DIYer’s and Upcyclers and to practice these principles in all our  affairs.
((Thanks to Facebook shares and likes, Pinterest, Youtube, Twitter and Blogs we can now share our ideas to millions 24 hours a day. Whatever our idea, there are thousands who have already trod the path of that project to help lead the way. We can find a tutorial on how to neuter our dogs at home, cut our husband’s hair ourselves, properly paint any building we come across, turn $2 worth of food into something fit for a royal feast, grow 10 acres of food in 3 square feet of space and knit/crochet every stitch of clothing our families will ever need.))

Yes! Take this message to the milli….  Wait a minute…I thought doing this was a bad thing when we started this….  I know! I’ll do more research and print out statistics on the problem!  ::runs off to find another storage box, laughing maniacly::

((original writing by me))

I love comments. Let's Talk!

