Home » Random Acts of Thinking » A few simple coins…

A few simple coins…


I just saw something that made me cry, made me proud and encouraged me more than anything I’ve seen in a long time.

It seems that all you see anymore, everywhere, is one horrible news story after another. Wars, rumors of wars, weather catastrophes, doomsday reports, how awful the human race is in so many ways, how badly we treat each other. I know now and then they try slip in a feel-good fluff story, but honestly, is it enough to overcome all the disheartening news and stories? I do believe God has it in His hands, but still, being human, I admit to often feeling like it is an insurmountable task, even for a Divine and loving God. I often feel weighed down with all the things I need to do, should be doing, should be stockpiling, should be giving, need to have, need to get rid of, need to watch out for, need to relearn… its an endless list that makes me feel overwhelmed with my inability to “do it all”. On top of that, comes the feeling of why bother? What does it matter anyway? If one thing doesn’t get us, something else will. Do we know our neighbors? Do we even want to?

Don’t get me wrong. I am blessed beyond all reasoning. I know this. I am so thankful and grateful to God, for my husband, my little home, my family, my friends, my little 4 pawed kids that I just smile like a silly goof sometimes. I still get little warm flutters when I see my husband coming towards me.

But it feels overwhelming sometimes. I can sign petitions, I can do “walks” and rallies, I can stand on overpasses, but it doesn’t feel like its really going to make any difference most of the time. My little part in things is too small to really make any kind of a positive impact.

Then I saw what a few small coins did. I hope you watch this with an open heart and eyes. Watch the people’s responses. Watch the joy that fills their faces and brightens up this moment in time for them. What could happen if we all took turns putting in a few small coins and kept the music going?

I love comments. Let's Talk!

