Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Thanks and Good Eats

Thanks and Good Eats


Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving (Photo credit: CaptPiper)

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day, for those who celebrate it. For those who don’t, well, happy Thursday. 🙂

duck dynasty mikeWhen I think about being thankful, I don’t think of a day, I think of a list. The list of things I have to be thankful for every day. I have the best husband on the planet. (yes, I AM biased) In case you were wondering, though he is bearded and ‘stached, the Duck Dynasty look is an app you can get for androids that adds that big beard. lol  I honestly don’t know why God gave me this guy. I was a mess. lol. Why I got such a sweet man handed to me on a silver platter, I will never understand. That’s not to say we haven’t had our struggles, but he’s a real keeper and my life without him would be unthinkable. I have a family that I love to bits, even though I rarely get to see them. I have a sister that I have adored since I was a little girl. The sun always rose and set on my big sister. I have a brother-in-law that I love and appreciate more and more. He’s a special guy, too, and this family is lucky to have him in it. My nephew is the coolest man. I could not be more proud of the man he is. He saves lives, lives life to the fullest and is a kind, gentle man with a ready smile and an adventurous spirit that I’ve always envied. I have a brother and sister in law that are fun and always make us laugh till we’re crying and a niece who is strong, independent and beautiful in spirit.

front of house 2013 juneI have my lovely little home that I had given up the dream of ever owning. With all its idiosyncrasies and quirks, its ours and the stability of that means more to me than you can possibly imagine. Only someone who has lived for years with the knowledge that on someone’s whim you may have to pack up and go could appreciate what I mean.

rosey2 6-13baby2 6-13

I have the two quirkiest dogs I’ve ever been mama to. They are a constant source of smiles, laughs and eye rollings, not to mention company, cuddles and warm and loving acceptance. Who could ask for more?

I’m warm, fed, the bills are essentially paid, clean and dry and comfortable. I can sit and watch the storms outside rage and be wrapped up in a quilt with my doggies and watch in comfort.

I have God and know that He is with me and taking care of all of us and, for reasons I cannot fathom, blessing us with all of these things. That’s the thing I’m most thankful for, and I tell Him so often and with a grateful smile.

This year, the last 3 weeks especially, have been full of difficulties. A bad back injury has had me laid up and unable to do much but sit or lay around. I’ve had to be taken care of, helped out of bed, washed and dressed by hands other than my own. By the way, for all you young ladies out there. Screw the romance novels and silly movies. You want to know if you have met the right man? See if he takes care of you when you cannot take care of yourself and does it with a smile. THAT’S a real man, girls. Anyway, I’m finally able to get around a little bit better and sit at my desk again for a bit, so I’m trying to get caught up here.

And I’m thankful for that. 😉  On the bright side, I’ve made a good dent in my Christmas presents that I’m knitting/crocheting. Another thing to be thankful for!

I hope that all my friends and readers had a great day, lots of fun and relaxation, all in good measure. Making plans for all your leftovers now? Did you go out mega-shopping today?

I love comments. Let's Talk!

