Home » Random Acts of Thinking » A Shocking Realization…

A Shocking Realization…


I really don’t like gardening very much.   ::waits for the gasps to die down and all the vapors to fade away::

pruning

GRRRRRR!

I know. To be honest it came as a shock to me, too.  All the years longing for a yard to garden in, my big veggie gardens I was going to have, my edible landscape ideas….  sighs.

Now don’t misunderstand. I LOVE the idea of gardening and I really do love getting some new perennial so I can watch it come up year after year, but I can’t honestly say I like doing the planting. I’m just not one of those people who love to be in the dirt, who love the smell of dirt under their hands, who can spend hours puttering around in their gardens. Thing is.. I thought I WAS one of those people!

This does not, however, mean I do not garden. I do. I do it because I love having certain veggies fresh at hand. I’ve also realized that the idea of having a garden with many different things is not something I’m good at, nor, after doing that the first two years, something I really feel I need. Hubster and I are just not huge experimenters when it comes to food. We like it simple and recognizable.

For instance, I grow tomatoes for the sweetie. Enough for him to snack on throughout the summer. I don’t like raw tomatoes, so I just plant enough for him. I love fresh snowpeas and wax beans, though. I like fresh carrots, but in all the years of trying various methods, I have yet to get my carrots to grow bigger than a nub. Sad, but true. I love watermelon and have only tried them a couple times and only got a couple small ones from all those huge, ground-eating vines. Someday I’ll have an arbor and will try my hand at grapes, which we love.

So while I will put in a garden again this year, although I’m going to have to learn to garden vertically because of a back injury over the winter, I won’t feel so guilty about knowing that I’ll be glad when its all over and in and I can be done with it.

I want perennial vegetables!

2 thoughts on “A Shocking Realization…

  1. I planted a dozen or so blueberry bushes last year and will spend the summer fighting for their lives against the birds, critters, and weather. I agree with you. Gardening is difficult. However, a stroll through the farmer’s market on Saturday morning is easy – and pleasant! Hope your back is better. Patsye

    • Thanks Patsye! I keep trying to save my one remaining bb bush. Its the one that’s been with me the longest. I get berries, but that sucker just won’t grow. 😦 We have a guy that goes to the farms about an hour away from us, commercial farms, and brings back the best veggies at great prices. I stock up from him. 🙂

I love comments. Let's Talk!

