Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Zzzzzzt! There goes the power!

Zzzzzzt! There goes the power!


candle

Ten o’clock pm.

So while we were sitting in the house with no power, I got to thinking. You hear about folks getting up with the sun and going to bed with the sun. Being a night person, that just buggers my mind. But I think I get it now.

Technology has turned us all into night owls…comparatively speaking. There are so many things to keep us wide-eyed and bushy-tailed till all hours. Ok, maybe not bushy-tailed, but certainly awake. This is fine…until the lights go out, the computer is off and the internet is gone away. Then you realize how boring night can be. I mean not just a little boring…but mind-numbingly boring.

If you’re like me, the night time is the right time. Its gaming time. Its chat time. Its surf the net time. Choosing to sit in the dark while you do these things is just that… its your choice. Having it inflicted on you and not being able to do any of the things you would normally do is no fun at all. If you read the homestead/frugal/prepper sites they have all kinds of articles about what to do when the lights go out. More important question should be, what do you do when the internet is down?  gasp!

Now I had light. I mean we are ready with lanterns, both battery and rechargeable. We have flashlights. We have candles. But it sure wasn’t easy trying to knit by those things. Drawing didn’t work out so well. Crafts were not going to be happening. I could read with my tablets. I booted up my new laptop then realized I had no games on it that were playable offline yet. lol. And I was awake. Wide awake.

This is when I had an epiphany.  Daylight is the friend of the lightless. It would have been way better and less stressful to have slept the dark hours away. Would there still be internet withdrawal? Yes, but at least I could have entertained myself with things that require being able to see. So maybe those old farmers had the right idea. Have your life during the daylight and sleep away the night time.

Maybe I should rethink my schedule….   right after I finish this game…

I love comments. Let's Talk!

