Home » Random Acts of Thinking » What do you do when there is snow outside?

What do you do when there is snow outside?


Well, I’ve been playing some more with my new PE 770 embroidery machine. 🙂 I would like to have gotten more done, but the truth is that its sooooo cold in that room that I’ve sort of been avoiding it. Still, I took advantage of the one day when it hit 33 to go out and get a couple more bibs done for my soon to be great-nephew. I think I improved on these last 3 because I changed how I stabilized it underneath and it seemed to work out a lot better.

bibdolphin1 bibdolphin2 bibsoccer

Hubby went online and downloaded me more embroidery files, too, so its going to be fun doing the rest of these!

For those of my friends who Cross-Stitch look what else I got! I wanted to get a program like this for years and finally we did it. I’ll be able to create my own designs but also be able to turn anyone’s photographs into cross-stitch patterns. I love this idea!

pcstitch

Lastly, I’ve been doing a lot of drawing and zentangling lately. I love doing it, but my micron pens were starting to get low on ink. Thanks to Linday at thefrugalcrafter.com ( I LOVE her youtubes!) I ordered some india ink from Dick Blick Art Materials and was able to refill them again. yay! And that got me to thinking about how much like a rapidograph pen these micron pens were. I have a full set of Kohinor that I bought years ago. They needed a little cleaning, but since I had the ink, why not use them? They are fantastic pens, albeit not cheap. Then I thought some more and remembered that I had found a set of 7 Rotring Rapidograph ISO pens. oooer! I hadn’t really looked that closely at them or taken them apart, but I know what THOSE cost and I bought them hoping they would be usable as well. They have different sizes than my Kohinor’s had. BTW… Rotrings are made in Germany and are very hard to find here in the states. ONE replacement pen tip is 22.40 euros. That’s approximately $25.00 here in the States. A full pen, for the cheapest one I found, was $30. I have 7 pens and one extra tip. BUT… whoever had them before didn’t clean them at all. They were left full of ink in the cartridges and the tips weren’t even so much as rinsed out.

Sighs. I bought some india ink pen cleaner and began the process of cleaning all these pens. I had to let them soak in the bottle full strength and it still took me 2 days to get them clean. What a job. I was solid black up to my wrists both times. In the end I got all the Rotrings clean except for one tip which is just crapped out, and one of my Kohinor pens which I mangled acccidently. I know I can replace that easily enough though.

So that’s what I’ve been doing in the snow. Plus lots of dishes and laundry. I’ve given up on the floor until all this snow melts. What have you all been up to?

I love comments. Let's Talk!

