Home » Random Acts of Thinking » The Humble Beet’s Guide to Identifying a Fake Spinning Wheel

The Humble Beet’s Guide to Identifying a Fake Spinning Wheel


I thought this article might help somebody else. I’ve seen these decorative ones before and though I’ve never really looked at a real one at least now if I want one I know what to look for.

The Humble Beet

spinning wheelImage source.

Over the winter I learned how to spin fibre into yarn using a drop spindle. Spinning is one of those gloriously tedious activities you can zone out to for hours on end while you unknowingly bust through Netflix’s entire inventory and/or develop chronic, debilitating tendonitis, or at least some pretty calloused fingertips. It’s seriously awesome.

Almost immediately decided to take my spinning to the next level and buy a wheel. I knew this was the right move for me. I knew it! Knitting runs through my veins! I bleed alpaca fleece and dream about goat-filled meadows at night! Making yarn was about to become a central component of my identity. Barbara: sewer; knitter; spinner; semicolon enthusiast.

A new spinning wheel can cost anywhere from $400 – $1000. Most of them sit around the $800 mark. Pricey, right? Naturally turned to Kijiji, the buy-and-sell underbelly of modern consumerism…

View original post 729 more words

I love comments. Let's Talk!

