Home » Zentangles and Drawings » Pretty front porch door

Pretty front porch door


Not a very creative title, but I was stuck for what else to call it. lol. I wonder sometimes if I should post the picture that inspired me, since next to that picture, mine will suffer even more than it would on its own, but someone else may like the pic and want to do a version, too, so I share both. Anyone on advice on if I should do that or not let me know! πŸ™‚ This is not a picture I took, btw. It was shared someplace on FB. If its yours let me know and I’ll give you full credit.

door and porch pic to draw

 

I love old doors and country scenes and flowers and such. I just thought this porch looked like someplace I would love to sit and read. I’ve also been trying to get lighter and not so bright. I love the muted shades you can get with watercolor, but I always seem to be very heavy handed with color and lose the shadows. I also keep trying to remember that a painting doesn’t have to be exactly like the picture with every detail the picture has. I heard someone on youtube say that your art should reflect the part of the scene/picture that YOU like best. It doesn’t have to be a duplicate of what you’re looking at. I tried to remember that when I did this drawing.

country door drawing

Β 

6 thoughts on “Pretty front porch door

  1. I would love to sit on that porch too! I’ll bring the lemonade! It reminds me of the house built by my great-grandparents in Quincy, MA circa 1905. My grandmother lived there for several years as did I when my parents moved there. Those years were the best part of my childhood. Thanks for the lovely drawing and inspiring my walk down memory lane. πŸ™‚

I love comments. Let's Talk!

