Home » If you make it, they will come! » Still on the planet!

Still on the planet!


Yep, I didn’t fall off the face of the planet. I know its been a little quieter on the blog, but its that frustrating time of the year when the things you are making are gifts for friends and family and you can’t post them. ::flops:: Makes me a little nuts, because I would love to show you all! I’m going to try to be sure I do some things that I CAN post. πŸ™‚

Last year, on our annual adventure called “Country Roads (see posts here and here) my wonderful sweetie bought me two skeins of yarn from an alpaca farm nearby. Both were 900 yards! The colors are gorgeous and its soooo soft. The yarn is from the alpacas on this farm.

pumpkin alpacabeachy alpacaI’ve been wanting to knit something with them, but this isn’t yarn I can get often, in fact its RARE for me to get something this amazing, so I wanted whatever I made to be something as special as the yarn.

I finally found what I’m going to use one of the skeins for the other day. There is a website called Tiny Owl Knits. The creator of the blog is so talented and has such a quirky, fun style. I love some of her patterns. One that I really love is called the Dragon Watcher’s Hood. I just love it. This is definitely “me”. πŸ™‚

I urge you to go take a look at it and the rest of her site. Her prices are VERY reasonable, unlike so many, and each one is more creative and more wonderful than the next.

I’m going to make it out of the orangey skein. I think the dragon’s will find me easily against all the snow and even during the worst snow storms. It will also be a wonderful warm and sunny color when the world around us is nothing but grays, whites, and browns.

The last thing I want to show you tonight is the painting I did tonight. I’ve done a few others, but they were really baaaaaad. lolol. I mean seriously, truly bad. Posting less than perfect or less than wonderful things is one thing. Posting truly heinous things is another.

I’ve been struggling quite a bit with my painting lately. There is so much to learn from others styles and working through drawing and painting tutes to learn techniques is great, but at some point I think you have to just go for it and do something you like to see if it comes out. I can honestly say that I love, love, love how this painting came out. It really hit on all the things I love about watercolors.

Its the lighter more muted shades, the shadows are a help not a hindrance or a black mess, I love the subject matter and my blending did what I wanted it to do. This is one I’m going to print out for a frame in my room. Now to try to get more to turn out the way I want. LOL

feathers

I’ll talk to you all again soon and I’ll try to be sure to make some things just for you all to see. πŸ™‚

 

8 thoughts on “Still on the planet!

  1. Nice to SEE you again! Your yarn looks wonderful! Look forward to seeing what you create with it! 😊 And your feathers turned out so lovely!!! πŸ’–πŸŽ¨πŸŒˆ

I love comments. Let's Talk!

