Home » Pen and Ink » A Hibiscus in Winter

A Hibiscus in Winter


Sounds like it should be a novel, doesn’t it? πŸ™‚Β  Anyhow, I know its been a little since I posted, but I’ve been busy working on Christmas projects, running around like everyone else and generally just keeping busy. I love the season, but I hate that I can’t post anything because the people the stuff is for will see it! It’s frustrating, but in a good way. lol.

This I can post, though. I love watching the You Tube channel, The Frugal Crafter. Lindsay does GREAT tutes on all kinds of things and she is such fun to watch and listen to. She’s very down to earth and not all uptight about everything being just like she does it, or it has to be this or that color, or has to look like such and such. She’s very encouraging and lets you just have fun and express yourself. She makes it feel ok if its not perfect the first time, or doesn’t look just like hers. She even shares when she makes mistakes and lets you know when a project frustrated her or didn’t come out right, or had to be done multiple times. I love all those things about her tutorials.

This is from the tutorial on a Hibiscus. She does hers in watercolor, but I used Derwent watercolor pencils for mine. I just bought a pad of Strathmore 300 series Bristol paper. While I love the paper so far, I don’t think I would use it for watercolor pencil again. Because its so smooth the pencil tends to life rather than spread. I can’t wait to try it with pen and ink and watercolor next time. I haven’t like using the very textured watercolor paper for pen and inks so I got this. I think it will work out great.

And I just noticed I spelled Hibiscus wrong. LOL. That’s what you get when you’re doing things like this at almost 4am. Oh well. πŸ™‚

hibiscus

13 thoughts on “A Hibiscus in Winter

  1. I love this!! And the white dots are a great addition too. Lindsay is the reason I ever thought I could draw anything. She made me believe I could do it. I owe an awful lot to her. Sent her a gift card last Christmas with a hand painted card and she put the card in a video! Was the best gift ever, and actually made me cry a bit when I saw that. She is wonderful. I like this painting every bit as much as anything I’ve seen from professionals. This is very cool and love the colors!

I love comments. Let's Talk!

