Home » Zentangles and Drawings » A sunflower a day keeps the…um….

A sunflower a day keeps the…um….


SUNFLOWER

 

Ok, it doesn’t keep anything away, but they do make me smile. πŸ™‚ I really like sunflowers. I wanted to try out my newest splurge; the Derwent Inktense Blocks 72 count. I have plans for those and I was trying them out tonight on watercolor paper. The little bit of background is done with my Derwent watercolor pencils.

I had a lot of fun and the colors are gorgeous. As I’ve seen on many you tube videos, adding water really makes the color POP!Β  One thing I learned, however, was that next time I’ll use a piece of paper under my hand. It smears pretty easily. The colors went down nice and creamy and I couldn’t wait to add water to it. You can leave it dry, but I really think that’s better done in small amounts. Not wetting them is really missing out on the explosions of color.

I used an Elegant Writer for the text. I’m working on my calligraphy again, but gosh those elegant writer’s have the crappiest tips! I don’t know how anyone could really learn to do nice lettering with those things. It was right to hand, though, so I used it.

Anyway, ya’ll have a great night and try to stay out of trouble…or at least don’t get caught. πŸ™‚

 

 

13 thoughts on “A sunflower a day keeps the…um….

  1. WOWZA! 72 colors! How fun is that!!! Inktense Blocks work fabulous on fabric too. Your sunflowers turned out so pretty and your lettering too! I have just discovered the Lamy Fountain pen (Amazon sells them). It makes writing or sketching fun – And you can buy a converter so you can put your own ink so it won’t smear. πŸ˜„πŸŽ¨πŸ’•

    • ooer that sounds like fun! I really used to love doing calligraphy years ago. I’m SO rusty tho. lol. I still have all my speedball dip pens, but I also have my original Osmiroid. Hard to find them but sometimes I see them on Ebay. One of these days I’ll get another as a “just in case” replacement since I have so many of the tips for it.
      The sunflower is on a piece of muslin. It was a lot of fun to play around with. I’m going to order the 36 count of the inktense pencils for the finer details. I don’t think I need the 72 for that though and honestly, I can’t really do another $90. πŸ™‚ If I really need them I can get them later, but doubt I will need to.
      Love seeing what you’ve been doing, Jill! Your artwork always makes me smile.

      • I used to do calligraphy many years ago too! I recently dug out my old pens. Great minds think alike, huh?! Lol! I purchased the Lamy for sketching partly because the Micron pens run out of ink so quickly. I didn’t realize your sunflower was on muslin. Are you going to finish it on your sewing machine or use it for another project? πŸ˜„πŸ’•πŸŽ¨

      • I want to use it as practice in trying free quilting free motion quilting. I need a different attachment for my sewing machine. It came with a darning needle which technically will work but its not really the right one for doing free motion quilting so I’m going to order the the right one. I’ve done it once I did a stippling but it’s harder than it looks and following the path of the shape of a pattern actually turned out to be harder than I thought.

I love comments. Let's Talk!

