Home » If you make it, they will come! » Wire wrapping and fabric painting today

Wire wrapping and fabric painting today


I had FUN today. šŸ™‚Ā  I figured I deserved it after finally catching up with my dishes, laundry and making a big pot of Chicken Paprikash. (YUMMMM!)

So first thing was a tile project. You recall I posted the little tiles I had done with alcohol ink?Ā  Today I did something I wanted try with the smallest ones. Wire wrapping and making a pendant out of them. The tiles are 1×1, I believe, and thought they would make cute necklace pendants. Now bear in mind that these are just practice. I messed up the bail on the one with copper wire so ignore that part. lol. I’m a bit rusty and think I may try a little different method ,but this gives you an idea of what I’m going for.

copper wrapped tile blue wrapped tileThe wire on the blue one is a bit too light, but at least the bail came out right. LOL.Ā  I think I like them a lot.

The next thing I did was to start one of my projects with my Derwent Inktense Pencils. I’ve been dying to start on this. I bought a plain white canvas tote from Walmart and drew/painted a nice big sunflower on it. There are also two other smaller sunflowers on either side, but I didn’t get that far today. I think the person I saw doing it this way added a little water to the textile medium, but couldn’t remember so I used it straight. I’ll be checking the videos tonight in bed on you tube. šŸ˜‰Ā  Still, I love how it came out so far. It was a lot of fun and watching those colors just spring to life when they got wet was pure joy. I’ll show it to you again when its fully finished.

fabrictoteOh and a little update on the coasters. I have to go get another type of sealer. The one I used almost messed them up bad. It could have been really bad.Ā  Did some more watching and reading and will be picking up another kind tomorrow. Hopefully, I’ll be able to post the finished stacks in a couple days.

Looking for what you think on the pendant idea!

5 thoughts on “Wire wrapping and fabric painting today

    • These are alcohol inks so I had to seal them. I used krylon’s Kamar Varnish. It’s in the art section with the charcoal and pastel fixative. Walmart had it. I did 2 light coats of that. Then for some shine I hit them with a light coat of Helmsman Spar Urethane in glossy. They could have used a little heavier spray of that, but it’s no buggy. Hope this helps! Just be sure that if you make something that very hot items will sit on, e.g. a hot plate, you’ll need to use a high temp Varnish instead. I have’nt researched that as well yet, but I know some have used a clear engine enamel for that.

I love comments. Let's Talk!

