Home » Random Acts of Thinking » May you live in interesting times…

May you live in interesting times…


So gosh, I know I’ve not been as active on the blogging scene, but it seems like every time I’m going to post things change again. lol.

We’ve done two shows this summer. The last one went ok, but we had such a heatwave come in that it really was more on the miserable side sitting there and, I believe, really kept a lot of people home or just coming to look at the tractors and then heading back to the AC. Everyone was very nice, even with all the heat. We kept a bowl full of water at the corner of our canopy for all the furbabies with their parents. They were so hot. It’s amazing how many people don’t think to bring some water with them to give their dogs while they walk. There was huge appreciation from grateful moms and dads for giving their babies water, though, and we had a lot of fun talking to them and petting their “kids”. Lots of sloppy kisses. 🙂

There has been a somewhat recent development that is keeping things a little on edge around here. The company my husband works for is going to be selling/closing down the building where he works come December. We’ve been wanting to move to Texas to be with my family and have been praying about a way to get there. Guess this is God’s way of saying, “ok well let’s go then.”

If he stays until the end of December, he will get a very nice bonus and a very nice severance package (assuming that doesn’t change) and we’ll be heading to TX beginning of the year. We need to get a travel trailer and thanks to the tiny house movement, it has gotten really expensive even for used trailers. God’ll find one for us, but its a little bit of torture to look until then. lol. We’ll stay at my family’s with the trailer until we find something down there. This is the biggest move we’ve ever made and this time we cannot do it ourselves so that adds another worry. We will need a moving company this time and dag is that expensive.

I’m trying not to hit panic, but panic is my natural state since I’m a chronic worrier, so its not easy. I just keep reminding myself that God has never let us down, never let us be homeless and has always provided what we needed. So while terror is lurking beneath the skin, I’m also excited to be near my sister and bil, as is my husband.

Though I need to start packing and going through things, I also need to do some creative things still, so I don’t lose my mind entirely. lol.

Here are some pendants I just made. I have to do a lot of work on my shop and am pondering just making things for it and working on it more once we get moved. Not sure I need/want more stress right now worrying about a store. We’ll see.  I’ve been working on my wire-wrapping skills again lately.

wwpurpleagate

This is a slice of geode. I have quite a few of these and they have the natural state of their stone left on the edges. I’m still working on my bails, but I like the informal bail wraps a lot. This one has a simple twisted loop at the top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

wwwhiteflowerdrop

This is really cool. It has a white flower inclusion and then it has pale yellow sparkles and chips around it inside the glass pendant. The really fun part of this was the discovery that those sparkles also glow in the dark. I never knew that. LOL.  My husband saw it after I shut off the lights in my workroom for the night and he was passing through. He called me to come look and we were shocked to see it glowing merrily. I wrapped it with an abstract tree of life pattern. I thought that would look nice with flower inside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

rhodoniteThis is a large piece of Rhodonite. It belongs to a friend of mine and she wanted it wrapped to dress it up a bit. I did it once and I wasn’t at all happy with it and took it back again. This is how it looks now and I’m thrilled with how it came out. This is my fanciest wrap ever and I hope she likes it.

 

So that’s all I have right now. I’ve not painted or drawn much of anything, but I have some sewing projects, for me this time, that I want to get started on. Hopefully, I’ll have something to show you soon. I also have a few things I want to show you that I made for the last show, but I haven’t had time to get pics of them yet. That’s on my To Do list. lol.

Take care all and thanks for sticking with me through my little absences right now. I’ll keep you post. Everyone stay safe!

7 thoughts on “May you live in interesting times…

  1. I’ve never had to move cross-country, but friends of mine have. Keep praying for those things to fall into place, and then watch and see how God works. He’s faithful. Your pendants are lovely. I’m torn between the purple and the glowy one (glowy — that got me; how cool is that?). Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hello Cubbyholes! 😍🙋 Sorry to hear that you have to move. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers, my friend! ❤️ Your pendants are beautiful and your wire wrapping skills are AMAZING!! Not easy to do. 😃 I wish you the best! xo

    • Thanks so much, Jill! I really miss keeping up with your blog. You’re so fearless in trying new things. Hopefully I’ll be able to catch up now that the shows are over for me. And all hopes and prayers gratefully accepted! Lol. I’m such a nervous Nellie. 😄

      • I’m on Instagram too! Are you? My IG is the same as my blog – art Jill Kuhn Blogging is fun but I always feel behind with commenting on other blogs. So no worries there.

      • Erg sorry for the delay! I don’t have IG yet, but I really need to get on it. Omg, I don’t know how I’ll get everything packed.😥 Today I packed up most of my material. I decided to leave out some knitting and my drawing stuff and pack all else away for now. I have a couple small things to sew, then that’s it. I work on IG tomorrow and send you my name there. 😁

I love comments. Let's Talk!

