Home » Random Acts of Thinking » Pretty Things and Two Good Causes

Pretty Things and Two Good Causes


Hiya all!

This past weekend the Sweetie and I went to two fairs. One of them was pretty small, but the folks we met were really nice. At this fair was a booth called Trades of Hope. I had never heard of them before. They are a global company that works with women in impoverished countries to help them earn enough money to feed their kids, send them to school, buy them clothes, etc. The items are all handcrafted by the women, transported and sold here and in other places. I was rather shocked when I found out everything is handmade. The items were so beautiful and so creative and well done. I couldn’t help myself. 😉

wire-birdThis little bird is made by making a clay form of the bird and letting it harden. Then they do the wire wrapping. When that’s done they soak the clay bird until it dissolves and are left with the wire cage. I love birds and thought this was just the cutest thing. The set is a threesome, but they were allowing folks to buy them separately also. These are made in Nepal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

beaded-braceletThe next was a beautiful bracelet from Nepal. The beads are ceramic glazed and the bi-corns, are you ready for this?, coiled cereal boxes! I have seen them on you tube, but have never seen them in person. I can’t imagine how they can cut these strips soooo small or wind them so perfectly, but they do. This particular bracelet is their “Signature Bracelet” because its so popular for its colors and varied beads. I adore fall colors and fell in love with this bracelet.

“Haiti had this century’s worst natural disaster and is home to almost 500,000 orphans. The majority of the orphans have not been orphaned by prenatal deaths or natural disasters, but by parents who gave them up simply because they could not feed them. The Apparent Project is the “UN-orphanage” and is helping with the orphan crisis by providing parents with sustainable business through creating products.”  (from the website)

 

 

 

wire-bracelet-1wire-bracelet-2Finally, just before we left I saw this cuff. I look good in cuffs and like them so long as they aren’t too heavy or hot. This particular bracelet is now discontinued which is sad because the women said its a very popular seller.  I don’t know much about the specifics other than its from India.

 

 

 

 

 

The second fair we ended up getting a couple things, but I can’t show them to you yet since they are early Christmas pressies. 🙂 I’m sending out pressies early because its just too much trouble to keep track of them while packing.  I’ll post them when my sister gets them.  🙂

Finally, I wanted to post this little jar that I made. I sort of winged it and there are things I learned NOT to do when I do it again, but I still really like it. It’s done with polymer clay and a little art deco bottle I’ve had sitting around for a while.

bottle1 bottle-5 bottle-4 bottle-3 bottle-2

Since there are a lot of piccies in this post, I didn’t make them real big, but if you want to see them close-up you can click on the picture.

Now for the second good cause. 🙂

I had never heard of this, but my sister has been doing it for many years. It’s called Samaritan’s Purse.  They also have a blog, Samaritan’s Purse blog.  They do a seasonal drive called Operation Christmas Child. You might know it better as the Shoebox Ministry. They are run by Franklin Graham (Billy Graham’s son) and are world-wide. You fill a shoebox with all kinds of little gifty and practical things. You pick boy or girl and an age group for each box and label it, then fill it up with appropriate items for that child. Candy (stuff that won’t melt or spoil), pens, crayons, notebooks, toys, toothbrushes, brushes, ribbons and bows, little cars or trucks…etc.  They have lists for ideas and let you know which items not to include since they are going to many countries and many temperature zones. They also are the first on the ground at any emergency here and abroad. There is no way of knowing if you box will end up in some little girl’s hands in Haiti or a flood victim in Louisiana.  They send out millions of these each year.  Many churches act as drop-off points or you can find out the nearest one to you.

No matter what your beliefs are, this is a great cause and benefits children all over the world, including the United States, who would otherwise get nothing at all. I can’t wait to make my boxes. 🙂

So that’s my post. Hope all is well with you! Talk to you again soon.

I love comments. Let's Talk!

