Home » Random Acts of Thinking » What’s New Pussycat, woooo woooo wooooo, woo, woo

What’s New Pussycat, woooo woooo wooooo, woo, woo


Quickie update on what’s going on here. Still waiting to find out details of severance packages and such, so things are still up in the air. It is so frustrating to not be able to plan too much when there is so much TO plan. OI! We’re hoping to know more sometime this week. Pray that we get good news. We need it right about now. 🙂

In the meantime, I wanted to get a little sewing done before packing everything away. My materials are all packed except for a few things I wanted to get done. I really wanted a skirt for fall/winter and a new bag for my scooter for fall/winter. I made the skirt yesterday. I’m going to talk to a friend of mine and see if she thinks it might be a nice touch to do a small slit in each side to let the bottom flair a bit more than it does. I’ve been noticing that maxi skirts are back and very popular so I made this one long. Another thing to ask her…how she thinks it looks on me. I know she will tell me yay or nay on it gently. lol.

The material is one that I wouldn’t have really looked that close at on my own, but she found it and the more I looked closely at it, the more I liked it.  I have shirts in all the colors in the skirt pattern and love the jewel tones for this time of year. I’ll have plenty to wear with it.

fall-skirt-material fall-skirt

I like to watch You Tube… a lot.  One of the ones I follow and enjoy is Lindsay Weirich (sp?) on The Frugal Crafter. She does tons of crafty things which includes a lot of watercolor painting tutorials. She also does a lot of review of products. Most just compare if THEY like it or not, but she will tell you flat out if she doesn’t like it and why from a professional artists’ standpoint, but also how she rates it for a beginner’s standpoint. Many art supplies are good starting points for those who cannot afford very expensive supplies just to learn with and she isn’t snooty or condescending about those things. She will also tell you if they aren’t even worth buying as a beginner if you haven’t already. Even THEN she will say, “if you have these, by all means use them while you learn. Its better to make art with any supplies than to not make art at all.”  I really like that about her.

She also will get good deals from art supply companies for her viewers, although she will only link those if she truly likes them or thinks its a good deal.  Anyway, after watching one of her videos using  a brand  I know she, and many others, really like, she told us about a “super sale” going on at Blick’s for that item. Super sales are short term special sales on particular items. It was on the watercolors I’ve been wanting to get. These are artist grade, not student grade and I love the colors. So I got it on the Super Sale and I’m really excited to have been able to get them.

new-watercolors

 

These next pictures are of a really gorgeous (my pictures don’t do it justice) necklace my friend made me. This is the same friend from above skirt story. She does beautiful sewing and glass and bead work. The center is one of my small 1×1 tiles that I made with alcohol inks. I was stunned when she gave it to me. I had never seen anything like this before. It is actually a little netted bag made with the beads that the tile sits in then is drawn tightly around it.  Its made with mostly little seed beads and ones a little bigger on the side. (I don’t do this kind of beading so don’t know the names of all the different sizes of beads.) I absolutely love it and was blown away by how delicate and beautiful it is.

beaded-tile1 beaded-tile2

I truly have the most wonderful husband on the planet. Things have been really hard with our lives up in the air right now. I’m not a good handler of change or “floating” so its been very stressful. He was in the mall yesterday and stopped at one of those little boutique stores to get something pretty for me. Here is what he brought me.  I love hats. Always have. I love the little “tiny hats” that are so popular right now. I have a few in different colors, but he found this really dressy one. It is beautiful black satin with a satin bow and black lace. For those of you old enough, think of those little pill box hats from the 50’s with the lace hanging down. I LOVE those.  This is a tiny hat version. By the way, I also think this is the first time I’ve ever posted pictures of myself here. I tend to be a little (lot) camera shy because of my size. I had to show these off, though.  Hmm… I’ll try to grab a better picture of the hat itself tomorrow. I meant to do that but forgot.

little-black-hatHe also brought home something really beautiful and really cool. What you have to understand is that i have always been a sort of tom boy. I was never into fru-fru girly things….until menopause. LOL. Yes, I blame menopause. Suddenly I’m a pink loving, fru-fru wearing girly girl. The hubby is loving it, btw. LOL. So he brought me home a really pretty, sparkly necklace, and are you ready for this? A TIARA!  He said that I’m his beautiful Queen and should have a sparkly Tiara to wear with my sparkly necklace. giggles. I mean, have you ever heard something so sweet?  I really adore this man and he is so much better to me than I deserve. So here they are. These pictures don’t show off the sparkle the way I would have liked, but they were the best I could get. He spent almost an hour in the store picking out just the right ones that he thought I would like, since there were lots to choose from. Sighs happily. He makes me feel like the best woman in the world….and the luckiest.

tiaraandneck neck-closeup      tiara-closeupTomorrow I hope to get a little more sewing done, then I can finish packing all that stuff up and get to work on a few polymer clay and jewelry things I want to make for some friends for Christmas. Its been hard to get much done the last couple of weeks. I threw out my hip again and set off the pinched nerve so I haven’t been able to do very much at all.  I really think stress is taking a toll on both of us right now and being in this much pain has not made things easier since we also have to do winterizing things. I think we’re going to be here most of the winter at least, so we cannot just ignore the winterizing. Sweetie has been patching some little holes he found on the roof around the flashing of the chimney and a few other places. The ice storm of two winters ago really did a number on a couple places on the roof. The chimney sweep has been here, too, so we have heat. Just in time for all these nights in the 20’s. sheesh!  Wood is delivered and I pray we have enough. I always worry about that, tho. lol.

Packing continues, although its slowed down because we really don’t have a lot of room in the house for the boxes and needed to get that patching done before putting them in certain places in the garage. Course with the boxes in there, the garage isn’t getting gone through as much as we had wanted before the cold arrived. Still, if nothing else, we are going through things and getting rid of a lot of extraneous things. I really want to simplify and organize things better in the future and getting rid of some things has been a start on that.

I’ll try to get pictures done tomorrow, assuming I get the sewing done. LOL.   Talk to you again soon!


 

4 thoughts on “What’s New Pussycat, woooo woooo wooooo, woo, woo

  1. What a lovely photo of you! 💜 Sounds like you have a very sweet hubby! 😊 I think we all deserve to be treated like royalty every now and then! 👑 I like the beaded necklace your friend made you. I used to do this kind of beading but it is harder now since my eyesight has changed… age does this! Sigh! 🤓

    • I could never do that kind of beading. I don’t have the patience for all that tiny fiddly work. I was really nervous about posting a picture of myself. I’ve gained so much weight since my back got so bad. Menopause sure hasn’t helped that. Lol. I can’t wait to see what you do with the bird that you posted yesterday. I really want to get back to doing more watercolor but right now packing and making some things for Christmas presents and before we leave presents that I just haven’t taken the time.

      • I used to find beading very meditative – a lot like painting in watercolor for me as it forces me to slow down. 😊 I hear you about the weight thing – it is really hard as we get older and have health problems. Right now I’m dealing with a sprained foot… sorry to hear you are having back problems. I know what that’s like. 😬

I love comments. Let's Talk!

